Challenge: UMT – “Groovy” by Erin Koetz Olson

Okay, let’s say you never heard of these challenges and don’t know what UMT means.  First of all, if you are at all interested, you can go here to read all about it.  The very short version is that the Diva provides a challenge every week that anybody can enter.  I started last week.  This is my first post about it.  UMT means “Use My Tangle”.  Once a month, the Diva randomly picks a new tangle submitted by her viewers for all of us to play with. The tangle this week is “Groovy”, a brand new tangle by Erin.  So here are my two entries into the challenge.  You can click on any photo to see a larger view.

Tangles: Groovy, Fishnet, Zander, Tipple

First, let me say I had some trouble with this tangle, which surprised me.  Erin’s instructions are very clear, and the tangle doesn’t look that hard.  But I had a hard time getting started.  I did about 6 or 7 false starts before I finally got this one finished and decided it would have to do.  I couldn’t figure out what I didn’t like about my groovy lines.  I only knew I didn’t think they looked as good as others I had seen.  So I gave up and went on to something else.

And thus began my second tangle for this challenge.  The something else was a Zentangle Inspired Art piece on an 8″  x 5″ tile.  I started with two tangles I hadn’t drawn before – Oke and Ragz..  When that was finished, I thought: “Hmmm, what if I used Groovy for a border”.   However, being no dummy (most of the time) and liking what I had done so far, I decided to “cheat” and draw my tangle lines for Groovy in pencil, kind of like you do for Brayd.  If I hated it, I could erase the pencil and do something else.  What I found as I tangled Groovy is that what I hadn’t liked before was that my lines between were too dark, and sometimes didn’t close completely in the middle.  By drawing the outline in pencil I could extend my stripe lines if I needed to, and any unwanted pencil lines would be covered by the shading you do at the end.  This one I really liked.  It’s totally different from the first one.  Here it is.

Tangles: Groovy, Oke, Ennies Leaves, Ragz

I liked it, so before I shaded it for entry in the challenge I made a couple of copies so I could color them without redrawing the whole thing.  Just for fun, here’s what I did with the copies.  The first one uses a very simple sponging technique of dye inks to produce a sort of impressionist watercolor effect.  The second one is colored with Copic Alcohol Markers.

Inked copy after tangling.

Colored Copy using Copic Alcohol Markers

I hope you enjoyed my entries into this challenge, and would love to hear your thoughts.

Until next time, Let’s Tangle!

