Tangles:: Stripes, Hibred, Rick’s Paradox, Bilt

It’s time for this week’s Zendala Dare hosted by Erin at The Bright Owl.  .  For information on how to play, download the templates, and to see all the gorgeous eye candy submitted go here .

The challenge for me on the one shown at left was to use all tangles that used parallel or straight lines to practice “line work”. I used a Stripes variation, Rick’s Paradox, Baton, Bilt, and Hibred.  I often try to include at least one tangle I’ve never drawn before and that was Bilt.  A simple, easy to draw tangle that has a kind of deceptively complicated look when it’s finished.  It’s a new favorite for me. I used  pigment ink pens in black and green.   Shading was done with graphite and a prismacolor pencil.

The second one, shown below, I actually did first, so it took much longer. Tangles used: Groovy, Ennies, an Opus variation, Sanibelle, and then the big booboo.  The plan was to draw Cadent.  After drawing one of them (at the top) which was correct, I somehow reversed my S-curves and ended up with something else, I think it’s a cross between Cadent and Kuzek.  That was my last tangle, on the piece, so I couldn’t bear to toss it and start over.  For fun, I copied it, shaded one with graphite, and colored the second one with prismacolor pencils.  The tile is is approximately 6″ square.

I love to read comments, so please let me know you were here.  And don’t forget to check out all the rest of the entries over at The Bright Owl.

Until next time, let’s tangle!

