It’s that time of the week again.  This week the Diva has challenged us to use a tangle created by “Carole Ohl’s partner in crime, Daved”.  It is called Bridgen, and is a versatile tangle.  To see other entries and find out more about how to join in the fun of these challenges go to the Diva’s web site, located here.  While you are there, leave some love for the talented artists.

Before I start, I want to give a big thank you to each of you who have commented on my previous challenges.  I normally don’t make a comment on the post to say thanks, because I figure once you’ve been there, you won’t go back, lol.  But I truly do love and appreciate the comments.  I’ve only been tangling since April 2 of this year, and the amount of encouragement I have received from the community is truly wonderful.  I’ve signed up for the CZT class in September, and I can hardly wait!  I believe that tangling will be a part of my life for whatever is left of it.

On to this week’s challenge.  When I first started to draw this tangle, I wasn’t sure I was going to like it.  I think I was having a fog moment, where I couldn’t think of what to do with it.  So I just drew the dots and connected them and started drawing.  By the time I finished it, I had so many ideas, I knew I couldn’t do them all.  I ended up with five of them, and I’m going to show them in the order they were drawn.

Here is the first one.

Tangles: Bridgen, Lily Pads, Inapod, Nipa, Dew Drops, and Ahh

On the first four, Bridgen is primarily the string.  On this one I chose to tangle my name, which determined which tangles I used.  I liked it better than I thought I was going to.

Then, I decided to do a ZIA on a larger piece of paper, and I thought I’d increase the size of the Bridgen lines so I could tangle inside the tangle as well as the blank spaces it created.  Here it is:

As you can see, I used a bunch of tangles on this one, and got to practice shading.  I don’t even remember all the small tangles I put into the string and I forgot to write them down, but the bigger ones are cadent, florz, hollibaugh, and puf.

So, next I thought; hmm, what would happen if you drew Bridgen in a grid shape (kind of like you draw cadent) and then tangled inside each of the grid shapes.  That resulted in this:

Tangles: Bridgen, Laced, Intersection, Nipa, Dew Drops, Ahh

That’s my name again, but it would also be a cute way to make your own sample tile, with 16 different tangles in it.  However, I gotta tell you, it’s not as easy to tangle in that small a space as a bigger one.

Since I was focused on using Bridgen as a string and also tangling my name, I thought what if I drew block letters and tangled Bridgen around the letters and filled them with something else.  So I drew my initials and filled them with a variation of Striping.  Striping was so bold, that I didn’t like the way the Bridgen looked, so I just filled it in, including the circles, and then added white paint pen to the circles to highlight them.

Oops, looks like I need to clean the glass on my scanner.  Oh, well.

And finally, a total departure from what I had been doing (in a way).  This is a 5″ x 8″ ZIA, with some hand drawn maple leaves, deconstructed OKE, where I drew just a portion of the tangles, and outlining some of the bigger leaves in Bridgen, and a couple of smaller ones with Beadlines.  The whole thing is then colored with Prisma Pencils and Distress Inks.

I think I’m finally done with this Challenge and can go give love to all the artists and then move on to something else.  Thanks for stopping by, and until next time,  Let’s Tangle!

