This week we are honored to have a guest post from Certified Zentangle Teacher, Erin Olson, who blogs at www.thebrightowl.com.  Erin says”  I am very proud to announce that on August 18, 2012, I will be walking in the Relay for Life for the American Cancer Society.  The Relay for Life is a 24 hour walking event to support cancer treatment and research.  Your team must have someone on the track at all times for 24 hours to symbolize that cancer never sleeps.  As a paramedic, I encounter cancer patients on an almost daily basis.  I do my best to be optimistic in their presence but I know that the reality is that many of them will not have a favorable outcome.  On the upside, I am the niece, friend, caregiver, and acquaintance of many people who have beat cancer and are living life to the fullest as a result.”

I have supported Erin and I hope some of you will too.  To do that; go to her website (see blogroll on the right) for directions of how to do that.

This week, Erin made one of her gorgeous zendala tiles available to us to fill in the blanks, or change any way we would like.  So far, I’ve done two.  Here is the first one:

This is the first zendala that Erin has provided that I’ve ever tried in a 3.5″ zentangle tile.  The reason is that I’m still pretty new, and it was just daunting to me to try to make my tangles small enough to fit into the strings provided.  I finally got enough courage to try it.  However, I was trying to really zone or “zen” out today, because my main computer crashed three days ago, and I had to buy a new PC, and even though I was able to recover all my files through Mozy.com; they don’t go back where they belong; they’re in a great big huge recovery file, and I will have to sort through them and put them where they belong.  Yikes!  Anyway, on this one, I used only a few tangles, and some of them I couldn’t tell you the name of.  What I know I used is Striping, Fescu, Tipples, Paradox and some auras.  Anything else I just drew, and I have seen it before, but couldn’t tell you what it is.  My apologies to the zentangle purists.

The second one, shown below in color, is on a zendala tile, approximately 5″.

It is colored with prismacolor pencils and some sponged ink, and drawn in black, blue and green micron pens.  It has even fewer known tangles, since I knew I was going to concentrate on coloring it.  I have some more of those leaf shapes in it which I’m not sure what to name, some fill, and line work, and then also, Onamato, and some auras.  I guess I could just say this week I did small ZIAs, to get past the fact that I can’t name what I drew.  Hope you like them anyway, and if you’re so inclined, please let me know you stopped by and leave me some love.  I need it right now, and it always makes my day.  Whatever you do, I hope you’ll grab the link to the Diva challenge and take a look at all the awesome art that’s accumulating there.

Until next time, Happy Tangling.

