This week, the Diva challenged us to use a specific tangle….Brayd, by  Shelly Beauch, CZT.  It just happens to be one of my favorite tangles to draw.  It’s swirly and I find it easy.  People who really, really like grids seem not to like it as much.  However, it does sort of look like hair…..as in a braid.  For my first one, I tried to just do a “legal, regular zentangle”, which can be turned any which way, and doesn’t represent anything.  I like the way it turned out and here it is.

Tangles: Brayd, Hibred, Auaras, Holz

Then I decided I wanted to do a ZIA.  While thinking about that; I thought: “Ok, it looks like hair; so let’s make it look like hair only funny colored.  I immediately thought of Medusa; so I looked her up.  Oops, she had snakes for hair.  Hmmm, then I thought why couldn’t she have braids and snakes in her hair.  I’m naming her Medusa with Bat and here she is:

This is drawn on a half sheet of watercolor paper, 6″ x 9″.  First  I sketched in the oval for her face, her neck, and the outside confines of her robe..  Then I drew her hair and snakes.  I used Brayd, Reticulated, Barberpole, and Tipple for her hair and snakes.    Then I added the background, Brix on the top, and that wooden looking stuff on the bottom.  I know I’ve seen it before, but not sure where.  After I drew in her face, I drew the sections of her robe, using Joy,Baton, and Tipple.  I gave her a bead necklace, some earrings, drew in the bat in the upper right corner, and then colored with a mixture of sponged dye inks and my brand new Prismacolor Premier pencils (boy, do I love these)!  I made her skin kind of purplish grey; after all she is a mythical monster right?   I think that’s it for this week on the challenge, so now I’m off to start checking out the other wonderful art posted.  Hope you like this, and if you decide to leave a comment, it will be greatly appreciated.

Don’t forget to stop by the Diva Challenge; just grab the blinkie on the right and go see what all there is to look at.

Until next time, happy tangling!

Linda

