This week’s challenge from the Diva was to use just the two tangles Assunta and Mooka in a zentangle tile, a zendala or a ZIA.  What fun!  First of all, Mooka is the second tangle I learned back in April when I first discovered zentangle; because it was one of two videos that Rick and Maria did.  The first one I learned was Betweed.  Both of those tangles remain among my favorites today.  I didn’t know Mooka was supposed to be hard…..it was flowing and organic, and I loved it then, and I love it now.  Assunta on the other hand is NOT one of my favorite tangles.  I did learn it last week when I deconstructed it from Rick’s directions to put in my official tangle notebook.  I found it kind of difficult to make look good, even though I didn’t have a lot of trouble figuring out how to draw it.  But I’m always ready for a challenge so here goes.

The first tile I drew is shown below.

I didn’t like it that much, and studying it, I was trying to figure out “why”.  I finally decided I didn’t much care for the way I shaded it.  But in Zentangle fashion, “no mistakes” here it is.  The second one turned out a little better and is below:

I shaded this one differently, plus I made Mooka be a kind of frame for the Assunta, and added the dark tipple as a background and fill, and I like it better.

Here’s the third one.

This one has some of the same problems as the first one, plus I gotta say, I just don’t really like Assunta with the Mooka…..one is so organic and the other one is so structured.  I just sneaked a peek at some of the other entries and saw that other artists overcame that drawback, but I didn’t come up with any of those great ideas.

And finally, here is my ZIA.  It would not be right to publish this, even on my blog, without giving credit for the original ZIA that inspired it.  It was drawn by nolansmanned (that’s her flickr name, her first name is Fi).  Her Zia can be seen here.  This was the first picture I ever “faved” on flicker, about two days after I discovered zentangles.  She continues to be a real inspiration to me.

It is drawn in 01 colored micron pens.  And because I knew I didn’t really like Assunta in this tile; I made a color copy of the bordered mooka and tangled Assunta in brown in that copy.  Now I can save the border mooka (which I really do like) for something else….maybe a greeting card.  Shading is added with Prismacolor pencils.

Don’t forget to hop over to the Diva and look at all the gorgeous eye candy; and if you choose to leave me a comment, it will be most appreciated.

Until next time, Happy Tangling!

