Monodala is a brand new word coined by Erin over at the Bright Owl for this week’s zendala dare.  Mono-dala is a combination of monotangle and zendala to describe a zendala that uses only one tangle.  We were free to choose any tangle we wanted, but were to use only ONE, with as many tangleations as we liked.  I did two.  Before I show them, I gotta tell you about the “bee I got in my bonnet” this week.

We have several tangles that are optical illusions.  Among them are Cubine, Beeline and Rick’s Paradox.  I was thinking about trying to come up with a new tangle that was also an optical illusion, so I went “google-diving” on optical illusions to see what was out there.  Well, let me tell you there’s a lot.  To make a long story a little shorter, I will say I never did invent a new tangle; but I found out a lot about optical illusions, which led me to Op Art (representation of optical illusions in art) and several well-known op artists.  One of them is Bridget Riley.  In one of her galleries I saw a number of works that actually use tangleations of Nightsbridge and Striping.  Who knew!  So I decided to see what I could do with them in this dare.  If you are interested, you can find the inspiration pieces I used here.  Right up on the top row is the one that is like Nightsbridge, only she changes the vertical widths of the line to create the optical illusion.  There are several that use stripes to do the same sort of thing. Here’s the first one I did:

 I wasn’t able to create a credible optical illusion.  I think I would have to use a ruler at least.  However, I think I did capture another feature of “op art”, especially op art that was popular in the 60’s, and that’s the riotous use of complementary or near complementary colors to create a certain look.  The tangle I used on this one is Nightsbridge.

For the next one I used Striping.  Sandy Bartholomew, who demonstrates Striping, says that “stripes can be any width and go in any direction”.  I took full advantage of that to create this one:

Again,  I didn’t really master Optical Illusion, but it was really fun to do.  And….I’m not through practicing and trying to make an optical illusion.  Once I get an idea in my head it’s hard to get rid of it, lol.  Just for fun, here are some of the other pieces I’m practicing on….most are not finished, but there’s always tomorrow.

Well, that’s it for me on this one, and I hope you’ll let me know you were here by leaving a comment.  But, by all means, grab the link on the right and visit Erin over at The Bright Owl and peek at what other artists have done with this dare.  Until next time, Happy Tangling!

