According to Laura, our Diva: “A traditional Zentangle begins with dots, border, string – and often times, the string stays inside the border we drew, containing our work to the inside of our tiles.  This week, the challenge is to break free of your border! To create a tile or ZIA where SOME element of your work goes beyond the border and stretches or expands out, free from constraints!! ”   

That being the challenge, it was right up my alley; because at least half the time I don’t even use a border.  But I decided for this challenge I would use borders, and “break free” of them.  It was a blast doing this challenge, and I’m not even sure I’m finished yet, but here’s what I did so far.  I’ll put my two favorites on top, since those will be the ones that eventually end up in the slide show.  Here is the first one.

Tangles: Brayd and some kind of “daisy”.

I think this may be my favorite, but there are two more I sort of like too.  This is on a 3.5″ square tile, colored with a mixture of copics alcohol markers and prismacolor pencils.  I really love Brayd!

Here’s the second one:

This one was the last one I did, and I had trouble deciding between this one and the last one.  It is a small ZIA, approximately 3.5″ x 5.5″.  I used a bunch of tangles on this one.  First I drew the outside string, then sketched the fishes, then started tangling.  In the big fish, I used Tagh, Onamato (variation) Hibred, Hollibaugh with a tiny bit of striping, and tipple.  The ocean has Oke, Tearce, Sanibelle, Fescue, Tipple, and Ribbon.  I think I got them all, lol.  It’s colored in a mixture of Copics alcohol markers, sponged inks, and prismacolor pencils.  It’s drawn in micron pens, but a couple of places were over traced with green glitter pen.

The first one I did was much simpler and is shown below:

Tangles: Drupe, Fescue, an angelfish variation, and those leaves I never know what to call.

And here’s the last one.  This one and the first one were also hard to choose between.

Tangles: Verdigough, Angelfish, Antidots and more of those pesky leaves.

BTW, I love those “pesky leaves”, but I don’t know if they are a variation of another tangle or one of their own.  Everybody uses them, and most artists don’t name the tangles they use!  The technique of the folded corners and the pin and staples on this one and the first one, I “borrowed” from Helen Williams, who is on flickr as “Papernstuff”.  I think it’s a great technique.  Hope you like these and will let me know you stopped by.

Until next time, Happy Tangling!

