Laura gave us a guest poster this week, a fellow CZT who had a great idea for a challenge.  Her name is  Courtney Frantz.  Courtney tells us: “On November 18, 1928 the Walt Disney Studio released the animated short film, “Steamboat Willie”. This was the official debut of Mickey Mouse as well as his girlfriend, Minnie.  Since Mickey has been touted as one of the world’s most popular cartoon characters and noting that his debut was in a black and white film, I feel it is only fitting that we use our black and white Zentangle art to pay tribute to Mickey, Minnie and/or Walt Disney.”

That really sounded like a lot of fun; and I have done two ZIA’s, both black and white as a tribute to Mickey Mouse’s ‘birthday’.  Here is the first one:

The tangles I used are on the tile, which is about 8″ x 4″.  As you can see they spell M.I.C.K.E.Y M.(ouse).  It was really fun and relaxing to do, and Moving Day was one I’ve never drawn before.  I really like it; it has a sort of psychedelic look to it, and I know I’ll be using it again.

For the second one I decided to do a Mickey Mouse hat, and all the tangles start with the letter “M”.  In addition, I had never drawn any of them before.  Yikes!  A couple of them show that too; since they didn’t come out exactly like drawn by the original artist.  They are:  Mi2 by Mimi Lambert, Maylea by Simone Bischoff, Meo by Jonathan Baetens, Muffit by Sandy Bartholomew, and a variation of the tangle Mickey, which Courtney designed just for this challenge.

I hope you’ll let me know you were here by leaving a comment.  Comments make my day.  Be sure to grab the link on the right to Laura’s blog, and look at all the art that is gathered there.  Until next time, happy tangling!

