This week the Diva, Laura Harms, challenged us to use a tangle designed by LeAnn, also known as Ledenzer.  LeeAnn is one of the tangle artists that I truly admire for her beautifully flowing art often with mesmerizing use of color.  When I first saw this tangle, called Tuxedo, I didn’t think it looked like LeeAnn.  However, when I saw what she had done with it, I saw how she had incorporated it into her gorgeous style.  I have to admit, that at first I had a lot of trouble with this tangle.  I could do steps 1 through 3 just fine; but when I tried to do the circle shapes in steps 4 and 5, it just didn’t work for me.  I filled up a couple of pages of paper trying to get something that was minimally acceptable to me.  Finally, I decided to try straight and only slightly curved lines in steps 4 and 5 and it finally came together.  Once I got the flow of it, I really liked this tangle.  It has many possibilities for tangleations.  Here are the first two I did after my “aha” moment.

Challenge-112-1-and-2

The one on the left is a 3.5″ tile and the one on the right is 3.5″ x 9″ on a scrap of watercolor paper.  A serendipity on this one is finding LeeAnn’s bracelet tangle which is in the lower right corner.  I wasn’t totally satisfied with this piece, because I thought the composition was unbalanced, but it did give me a chance to practice Tuxedo more.

Here is my favorite which I did next.  I call it Tuxedo Pieces.

challenge-112.3

It is partially colored with Prismacolor pencils and also shaded with graphite.  To demonstrate the versatility of this tangle and what can be accomplished with fill, shading, and color, here is what this tile (measuring 9″ x 3.5″) looked like after it was drawn but not filled or colored.

challenge-112

I think it could even be colored to look like stained glass; although I didn’t try that on my tile.

Thanks to Laura for hosting these wonderful challenges.  Thanks to LeeAnn for providing us with a wonderful tangle to learn and play with, and thanks to all who have graced me with comments on previous posts.    Oh, that reminds me.  I am hosting a give-away of some colored Sakura pens on a previous post, and there’s still a couple of days before I do the random drawing.  If you are interested, go here, and leave a comment.

I hope you’re all having a wonderful week, and now I’m off to go leave comments on this challenge.

Hugs;

Linda

