The Diva’s challenge this week  is to learn and use a tangle called Kuke, designed by Katy Abbot, CZT.  It is a tangle I had never seen before.  Katy’s inspiration for the tangle was a cut cucumber.  I had trouble seeing that at first, so I went to the fridge, got out an English cucumber, sliced into it and guess what?  Katy’s tangle DOES look a lot like the middle of a cucumber slice.  I was just checking because, of course, it’s also true that a tangle doesn’t need to look like anything, right?  And Katy said the cucumber “inspired” her tangle named “Kuke”.   Cute tangle, Katy.  (Note:  If I had looked at Katy’s third picture before I started my drawing, I would have seen her shriveled up cuke slice that totally captures her inspiration.)

cucumber-slices-003

Okay, having gotten that out of the way, I did a 5″ x 7″ ZIA featuring Kuke.

Challenge-118

Tangles: Kuke, Perlz, Onamato, Flux, and Krli-Q.

This was fun, and I should mention I found it easier to draw the orb first, then put the Y in the orb.  I think that was because I was trying to keep the orb really round.  I’m thinking of doing another one in color; and if I do, I’ll post it later this week.  Thanks for stopping by, and I’d love to read a comment from you.  Don’t forget to stop by the Diva’s web site and check out all the lovely art provided.

And here is a real quick tile done on a 3.5″ scrap of hand colored card stock.  I call it my Kuke Garden.

Dare-118-kuke-flowers

 

Hope you all have a great week!  Happy Tangling!

