This week our Diva, Laura Harms, challenged us to something totally new.  In her own words she issued this challenge: If you have some stencils in your stash, time to pull them out and try tangling using the stencils as your string!  Don’t fret if you don’t have any stencils in your art supply, you can use anything from around the house. ”  Well, I knew I had stencils, so I pulled them out.  Whoops!  They are tiny little images of animals designed to be colored with chalks and used for card making.   Hmmmm, what to do, what to do.  I thought about going out and buying some, but wasn’t in the mood to go out.  I thoought about using cookie cutters until I remembered I don’t have any!  I thought about using a glass and doing circles, but I’ve already done that many times, and I wanted to try something new.  Then I started looking at my hole punches.  Most of them didn’t turn me on either, until I came upon this one:

challenge-126

In this scan, the white is the negative space created by punching the tag out of black cardstock.  I used the negative space as a stencil and created this ZIA on tan paper.

challenge-126-002

After the strings were drawn and darkened with ink, I added the tangles.  In the “real world” each tag will have a labeled tangle on it and will be kept on a key ring (see picture below).  As you can see, I need a much larger keyring.  My ZIA is 4″ x 6″ and I used White Prismacolor pencil for the highlights, and graphite for the shadow.  It was fun to do this challenge, and I think I got outside the box on this one.  I’d love your take on what I did.  Until next time, happy tangling.

keyring-001

